Board election process gets underway in Districts 3, 4, 5, 6 and 13

With 14 elected Board members, and terms on a three-year rotation, every year we have four or five district Board seats up for election.

For terms beginning January 2020, five districts will have new three-year terms starting. And we start the election process now so that by mid-October we have a good idea of individuals who will be serving on the Board starting the following year.

We’ve gotten the nomination process together and have sent an email and a nomination form to publishers/general managers in the five districts.

All will get until Friday, October 4 to nominate an eligible newspaper staff member — “must work in the district” for which he/she is nominated and elected. If more than one person is nominated in a district, we’ll send election ballots to the publisher/GM to finalize the process. That will take place in mid-October.

The five districts up for three-year terms that begin January 2020 and continue to January 2023 are:

Here are the Districts, incumbent Board member and counties represented in the district:

District 3 (Regina Catlett) — Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, McLean, Ohio, Union, Webster

District 4 (Steve Gaines) — Allen, Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, Simpson, Warren

District 5 (Stevie Lowery) — Breckinridge, Grayson, Hardin, LaRue, Marion, Meade, Washington

District 6 (Jane Ashley Pace) — Bullitt, Henry, Jefferson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble

District 13 (James Scogin) — Anderson, Bourbon, Fayette, Franklin, Harrison, Nicholas, Scott, Woodford


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *