Board elections underway in five districts

November 23, 2016

KPA has started accepting nominations from member newspapers in five districts for three-year terms on the KPA/KPS Board of Directors.

The terms begin at the end of the 2017 KPA Convention in January and continue through the end of the 2020 convention.

Nominations from member newspapers in the respective districts are being accepted through November 30. If more than one person in a district is nominated, KPA will then send ballots to newspapers in that/those districts. If only one person is nominated, that individual will be elected by acclimation.

The districts include:

3 (Regina Catlett is the current Board member) — Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, McLean, Ohio, Union and Webster counties.

4 (Jeff Jobe is the current Board member) — Allen, Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, Simpson and Warren counties.

5 (Stevie Lowery is the current Board member) — Breckinridge, Grayson, Hardin, LaRue, Marion, Meade, Nelson and Washington counties.

6 (the district is currently without a Board member following the resignation of Neil Budde from the Louisville Courier-Journal) — Bullitt, Henry, Jefferson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer and Trimble counties.

13 (Kim Woods is the current Board member) — Anderson, Bourbon, Fayette, Franklin, Harrison, Nicholas, Scott and Woodford counties.

Publishers of member newspapers in those districts should have received an email earlier this week about the nomination process and a nomination form. If it has not been received, please email me as soon as possible —

KPA Bylaws stipulate that to be eligible to serve on the Board, an individual must live and work in the district for which he/she is nominated and must be a full-time employee of the newspaper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *