Financial disclosure statements for legislators, candidates available through KLEC

From Laura Hendrix, Executive Director, Kentucky Legislative Ethics Commission

Financial disclosures for candidates and legislators on KLEC site

Laura H. Hendrix

The Commission has the statutorily required financial disclosures for legislative candidates and legislators available on the Commission’s website at The Commission appreciates the legislators’ and candidates’ diligence in promptly filing these disclosures.

Legislative Ethics Commission adds a new member; two members’ service is greatly appreciated as they leave the Commission

A new member has joined the Legislative Ethics Commission, as two valued members end their time on the Commission.  The Commission is comprised of community members, not sitting legislators, and is an independent agency of the legislative branch.

Former Representative Arnold Simpson was appointed to the Commission by the Legislative Research Commission in September.  He was born in Somerset, Kentucky, and was raised in Covington. He received his BA in Political Science in 1974 from Kentucky State University, and his Juris Doctor in 1977 from the University of Kentucky, College of Law. He practiced law from 1978 until his retirement in 2018. He served in the Kentucky House of Representatives from 1994 to 2018. He also served as the Covington City Manager from 1986 to 1989, and the Assistant City Manager from 1984 to 1986.  He has served on numerous community boards and organizations. He and his wife Jo Ann reside in Covington.

Former Judge Paula Sherlock ended her service on the Commission in September, and Tony Goetz left the Commission in August. The Commission deeply appreciates both for their dedication and public service, and their efforts at educating on and enforcing the Code of Legislative Ethics.

In addition to Simpson, other current members of the Legislative Ethics Commission are:  Chair Dave Nicholas; Vice-Chair Michael Noftsger; former Representative Sheldon Baugh of Russellville; former Senator Ernie Harris of Prospect; former Representative and Judge Tanya Pullin of South Shore; Katherine Gail Russell of Louisville; and former Judge Anthony Wilhoit of Versailles.

New and terminated employers

Five businesses/organizations recently registered to lobby the Kentucky General Assembly.  They are: Francis Energy; Heuser Hearing Institute; Nascend LLC; Pew Charitable Trusts; and Stelco, Inc.

Two employers, Glaxo SmithKline and Kentucky Alternative Livestock Association, recently terminated their lobbying registrations and are no longer lobbying in Kentucky.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *