High school journalism students across Kentucky score big in statewide contest

Students in broadcast, newspaper and yearbook activities at Calloway County High School scored the highest overall point total to take the Grand Champion crown in the 2016-2017 Kentucky High School Journalism Association statewide contest. 

High schools compete against schools of similar-size with Class AAA schools having the largest enrollments, Class AA with medium enrollments and Class A the smallest.

Among student newspapers in the General Excellence category, students at Calloway County High School won first place among Class A schools, Berea Community High School won second place with Paducah Tilghman High School taking third.

In Class AA, Louisville’s Assumption High took first, Marion County High took second and Highlands High was third.

In Class AAA, George Rogers Clark High School in Winchester took first, Louisville’s duPont Manual High was second and Oldham County High won third.

In the yearbook division’s General Excellence competition, Calloway County High was first in Class A, Mercy Academy in Louisville was second and Clarksville High (Indiana) took third.

In Class AA, South Warren High won first, Highlands High took second place and Trinity High was third.

In Class AAA, duPont Manual High won first place; Fern Creek High finished second and South Oldham was third.

In the broadcast division General Excellence category, Class A saw Calloway County win first place, Hardin County Schools Early College & Career Center took second and Berea Community High was third.

In Class AA, Central Hardin High School was first, Louisville’s Trinity High was second while Ballard High was third.

In Class AAA, Oldham County High won first, South Oldham High took second and Fern Creek High was third.

KHSJA was founded 20 years ago by the Kentucky Press Association to be an advocate for high school journalism in the state. More than 70 percent of member schools are sponsored in KHSJA by their local newspapers.

Editors: Names of individual student winners for newspapers can be found here:  www.khsja.com/site/?p=596

The names of individual student winners for broadcast can be found here:  www.khsja.com/site/?p=592

Yearbooks compete as staffs. Results can be found here:   www.khsja.com/site/?p=594

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *