Hoskins, Shaffer, Eldridge re-elected to KPA Board; Butler elected in District 10; District 12 results coming in; Cox joins at State At-Large

Mark Hoskins

Dave Eldridge

Jessica Butler

Cathie Shaffer

Mark Hoskins, editor of the Manchester Enterprise, was re-elected to a three-year term on the KPA Board of Directors. The original term expires in January and Mark will begin his next term during the 2019 KPA Convention. District 11 includes Bell, Clay, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Rockcastle and Whitley counties.

Jessica Butler, editor of the Beattyville Enterprise, was unopposed for a three-year term on the KPA Board. She will be representing District 10 that includes Breathitt, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Owsley, Perry and Wolfe counties. This will be her first term on the Board of Directors.

Cathie Shaffer, managing editor of the Greenup County News-Times, will again represent District 9 in Northeast Kentucky. Her counties are Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin and Pike.

Dave Eldridge, publisher of the Richmond Register, was completing one term through a special election and then has been elected to a full three-year term on the Board. He’ll be representing Boyle, Clark, Estill, Garrard, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer and Powell counties. He’s already been around the block, having served on the Board previously as well as President of KPA in 2002 and the current unexpired term on the Board.

There’s still one other race — District 12 — that’s to be decided. All the letters to publishers in both District 11 and District 12 were mailed the same day. And both had a deadline of Wednesday, November 7 for voting. Problem is apparently none of the letters reached District 12 publishers prior to the deadline. In fact, a couple reported not getting their letter until yesterday (Thursday, the day after the deadline). So we emailed each publisher, included a copy of the letter and the ballot and asked them to either fax or email their ballot as soon as possible. That race is between incumbent Jeff Moreland of the Central Kentucky News Journal, and Sharon Burton with the Adair County Community Voice.

And coincidentally, both are among the four candidates vying for 2019 KPA Vice President. The other two VP candidates are Dennis Brown of the Lewis County Herald, and Regina Catlett with the Sebree Banner/Sturgis News.

The voting deadline for KPA Vice President is not until Monday, November 19.

Ted Cox

Ted Cox to join the Board as State At-Large member

Ted Cox, publisher of the Garrard Central Record in Lancaster will be coming on the KPA Board in January as a State At-Large member.

He’ll be joining Carrie Dillard of the Paducah Sun, Jane Ashley Pace of the Oldham Era/Henry County Local and Josh Givens of the Central City Leader News as state at-large members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *