Journalism Hall of Fame nominations being accepted

The Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame recognizes Kentuckians who have made significant contributions to the profession of journalism. Nominees must be natives of Kentucky or journalists who have spent a significant portion of their careers in Kentucky.

And nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Hall of Fame class. According to the Hall of Fame website, nominations are due no later than midnight on January 31, 2017.

Click on the Nomination Form link below for the materials required and then send the nomination form to:

Prof. Lars Willnat, School of Journalism & Telecommunications, University of Kentucky, 118 Grehan Building, Lexington, KY 40506-0042

The Hall of Fame has inducted Pulitzer Prize winners, reporters, editors, photographers, publishers, broadcasters, journalism teachers and others who have left their mark on journalism. Scan the honor roll of some 200 names and you’ll find the first African-American woman to cover the White House, the developer of gonzo journalism, a voice of Triple Crown races and winners of nearly every national journalism award.

The hall was created by the University of Kentucky Journalism Alumni Association in 1980. It is housed in the School of Journalism and Media in the Grehan Journalism Building on the Lexington campus. Nominees are inducted annually.

The Hall of Fame welcomes nominations, which may be submitted at any time. But for a nominee to be considered for induction in the spring, the nomination must be received via e-mail or postmarked by midnight on January 31, 2017.

The nomination form is available for download here:  NOMINATION FORM 

A nomination letter elaborating on that information should be included.

A nominee’s resume or curriculum vitae can be a useful document. The Hall of Fame recommends at least two seconding letters accompany the nominating material.

The complete nomination and seconding letters for the Hall of Fame are distributed to the selection committee. The committee meets to review new submissions and discuss previous nominees who have not been selected.

The selection committee consists of the president of the UK Journalism Alumni Association; the director of the UK School of Journalism and Media or the director’s designee; the executive directors of the Kentucky Press Association and the Kentucky Broadcasters Association or their designees, and four Hall of Fame inductees chosen by the Journalism Alumni Association president.

Those selected by the committee are notified and invited to the Hall of Fame induction luncheon, held in conjunction with the School of Journalism and Media’s annual Joe Creason Lecture. Representatives of posthumous selectees will also be invited to the luncheon and lecture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *