KPA Board elections underway in two of five districts

Tuesday is election day for the general public. But it’s also now the season for Board elections for the Kentucky Press Association. Five of the 14 districts are up for a full three-year term, beginning in January, and two of the five will have an election by ballot.

Ballots have been mailed to the publisher of each member newspaper in the respective districts.

District 11, comprised of Bell, Clay, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Rockcastle and Whitley counties, has two nominees vying for the term. The two are Erin Cox, Corbin Times Tribune, and incumbent Mark Hoskins, Manchester Enterprise

District 12, comprised of Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Green, McCreary Pulaski, Russell, Taylor and Wayne counties, also has two nominees — Sharon Burton, Adair County Community Voice, and incumbent Jeff Moreland, Central Kentucky News Journal.

Ballots were mailed Wednesday to the newspapers in these two districts with a deadline for returning the ballot of Wednesday, November 7 at 5 p.m.

Three other districts are also up for a three-year term but only one person in each was nominated and that person will be elected by acclimation.

The three are:

District 9 – Cathie Shaffer, (incumbent), Greenup County News-Times; counties of Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin and Pike

District 10 – Jessica Butler, Beattyville Enterprise; counties of Breathitt, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Owsley, Perry and Wolfe

District 14 – Dave Eldridge, (incumbent), Richmond Register; counties of Boyle, Clark, Estill, Garrard, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer and Powell


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *