Mark your calendars for these April NNAF events

Digital Marketplace:  GNI News Consumer Insights Webinar Training

Thursday, April 8 at 12 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. CT/ 10 a.m. MT/ 9 a.m. PT

Recently, Google has launched an updated version of News Consumer Insights (NCI), which provides key insights and actionable recommendations based on your Google Analytics data to help grow reader engagement and reader revenue. You can select your Google Analytics account within the tool to identify reader funnel optimization opportunities.

Join us for a webinar where Google will go through the NCI dashboard and focus on best practices on how to extract actionable insights for your reader engagement.

Great Idea Exchange: Sponsored Content

Friday, April 9 at 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m.  CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ 12 p.m. PT

Sponsored content lets newspapers offer customers something they have long asked for: more control over how their ad copy reads and how it is presented. It all makes sense, doesn’t it? After all, they’re the one paying the bill.

Join us as NNA’s Director of Creative Resources Robert M. Williams Jr. as he  talks with Ginny Trigg, advertising director of The Pilot in Southern Pines, North Carolina, and Jill Whitley, marketing specialist for the Times Herald in Newnan, Georgia, about their success with sponsored content!

Meeting with Sen. Marsha Blackburn, R-Tennessee, & NNA

Thursday, April 15 at 12 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m.  CT/ 10 a.m. MT/ 9 a.m. PT

Congressional leaders discuss the largest-ever female class in Congress and their priorities for 2021.

Join the interview and post your questions.

Sen. Marsha Blackburn, senior senator from Tennessee, discusses the new class of Republican women elected in 2020, and the issues facing the 117th Congress.

Guest Editors:

  • Carol Daniels, executive director, Tennessee Press Association
  • Mike Fishman, NNAF vice president and publisher, Citizen Tribune of Morristown, Tennessee

Blackburn is a Republican senator from Tennessee, first elected in 2018 after serving as Congresswoman for Tennessee’s 7th Congressional District.

Blackburn  went to college on a 4-H scholarship and worked her way through school selling books for the Southwestern Company as one of their first female sales associates and later as one of their first female sales managers.

She then became director of retail fashion and special events for the Castner Knott Company, which was a Nashville-based regional department store. Later, Blackburn founded her own business, Marketing Strategies, which focused on the retail marketplace, as well as electronic and print media.

Blackburn began her career in public service in 1995 when she was named executive director of the Tennessee Film, Entertainment and Music Commission. In 1998, she was elected to the Tennessee State Senate. In the state legislature, she earned a reputation for fiscal responsibility and government accountability by identifying waste and offering realistic solutions to Tennessee’s budget challenges.

Blackburn serves on several Senate committees that are important to community newspapers, including the Senate Judiciary and Commerce, Science and Transportation Committees.

Pub Aux Live! Coming to a Mail Acceptance Unit Near You

Thursday, April 22 at 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m.  CT/ 12 p.m. MT/ 11 a.m. PT

Guest Presenter: Roshonda Jackson, manager of Business Acceptance Performance, USPS

Interviewers:
Matthew Paxton, NNA Postal/Government Relations chair
Brad Hill, president, Interlink, Inc.

Seamless Acceptance for all Full Service IMb mailers begins in July

Who should attend: Printers, publishers, circulation managers, data preparers, software experts
These and other effects may be ahead for mailers:
• no real-time weighing
• verification by sampling only
• penalties may be assessed if mail does not match 3541 form
• discrepancies because of inserts or paper weights may result in assessments
• beware of using old labels

Automated Podcasting with Audio Articles

Thursday, April 29 at 1 p.m. ET/ 12 p.m. CT/ 11 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. PT

In this webinar, Matt Larson, president and CEO of Our Hometown Inc. will present several case studies from publishers who are using Audio Articles to transform their newspapers into podcasts.

Using automated text-to-speech transcription tools, Audio Articles Podcast presents a turnkey opportunity for any newspaper on Our Hometown’s WordPress Platform to launch a podcast and expand their brand into the audio space.

Through a partnership with BuzzSprout, the audio articles can be syndicated to all major podcast apps and embedded as a playlist on their website’s homepage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *