NNA accepting nominations for three major awards

Every year, the National Newspaper Association announces the Call for Nominations for the Amos, McKinney & Phillips Awards, which are the highest honors awarded to working and retired newspapermen and women who have exhibited distinguished service to the community press.

 The General James O. Amos Award was established in 1938 by E.C. Amos, publisher of The Sidney Daily News, to honor his father, General James O. Amos, a pioneer Ohio journalist and an early-day member of the National Editorial Association.

Chip Hutcheson

Chip Hutcheson, a KPA and NNA Past President, who retired last year as publisher of the Princeton Times Leader, receive the Amos Award from NNA in 2017.

The Emma C. McKinney Award was created in 1966 to honor Emma C. McKinney, co-publisher and editor of the Hillsboro (OR) Argus for 58 years. In 1954 Mrs. McKinney was named dean of Oregon newspapermen and women and in 1957 received the Amos Voorhies Award, the highest state honor that can be awarded to an Oregon newspaper person. Mrs. McKinney was inducted into the Oregon Journalism Hall of Fame in 1982.

The Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award was established in 2007 to honor Daniel Morris “Dan” Phillips, an award-winning writer and photographer who passed away in 2005 at the age of 47.

For more information and forms: http://www.nnaweb.org/contests-awards

The awards will be presented on the morning of September 29, 2018 in Norfolk, VA (NNA Convention & Trade Show).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *