Not older than dirt but older than 13 states

In just 10 months, the Kentucky Press Association will be celebrating its 150th anniversary. January 13, 1869, a group of newspaper publishers from around the state met in downtown Frankfort to begin what today is KPA.

KPA is the nation’s 10th oldest state press association, Wisconsin being the oldest, but we can claim being older than 13 states.

Thinking about the anniversary over the weekend, New Media Administrator Corey Wall got to wondering what being 150 years old means. (KPA’s about seven times older than Corey, by the way.) So he did some researching and reported at Monday’s staff meeting that KPA is older than 13 states.

So the investigative reporter in you would ask: What are the 13 states?

Glad you asked — Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *