Past Presidents select 15 Host Newspapers for 2020 Internship Program

The KPA Past Presidents at the convention and selecting interns were Peter Baniak (2018), David Hawpe, (1990), Chip Hutcheson, (2010), Teresa Revlett, (2000), John Nelson, (2004), Kriss Johnson, (2007), Ryan Craig (2017), Tom Caudill (1999) and Loyd Ford (2016).

Kentucky Press Association Past Presidents met during the winter convention with the annual task of selecting the 15 Host Newspapers for the KPA/Kentucky Journalism Internship program. In early March, the 15 newspapers will get access to the online applications from students interested in serving the 10-week intern period. Each is worth $4,000 for the 10 weeks.

The 15 Host Newspapers selected by the Past Presidents are:

Providence Journal Enterprise • Springfield Sun • Lyon County Herald-Ledger • West Kentucky News • Madisonville Messenger • Richmond Register • Corbin Times Tribune • Bowling Green Daily News • Cynthiana Democrat • Central Kentucky News Journal • Paducah Sun • Citizen Voice and Times • Kentucky Standard • Glasgow Daily Times • Adair County Community Voice

Students have until February 28 to apply and then the applications will be turned over to the Host Newspapers. They’ll interview at least two students each, make their selection and will strive to have the intern selected and committed by the last week of March.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *