Veno, Parks, Craig honored with Jon Fleischaker FOI Award presented by The Associated Press

Ryan Craig

Natalie Parks

Chanda Veno










Chanda Veno, editor of the State Journal, Frankfort; Natalie Parks, a member of the Kentucky Kernel staff at the University of Kentucky; and Ryan Craig, publisher/editor of the Todd County Standard in Elkton, have been named winners of the Jon Fleischaker Freedom of Information Award, presented by the Associated Press.

This is the second annual FOI award presented to Kentucky newspapers by Adam Yeomans and the Associated Press.

Chanda Veno was named the winner for the daily division; Natalie Parks was honored in the student publications division; and, Ryan Craig won the award in the weekly division. Natalie Parks was honored for the “body of work” she submitted, consisting of three separate subjects.

The winning entries are linked below.



Winning entry by Chanda Veno, Frankfort State Journal:

FRN-090420-A01 Report (1)

Winning entry by Ryan Craig, Todd County Standard:

Todd County Standard entry (1)

Winning entries by Natalie Parks, The Kentucky Kernel:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *