Your Executive Committee and KPA/KPS Board of Directors

We’re beginning a new year in KPA as we continue celebrating our 150th anniversary.

Some of you haven’t seen the directory and might be wondering just who it is that’s running the association and Kentucky Press Service.

Below are the pictures of the five officers, the Executive Committee as they are known. And then below the picture is a list of all the Board members, their position on the board and their newspaper/company.

Remember, this is the largest state press association board in the country. We were running second to California until a couple of years ago when CNPA decreased its board numbers, allowing Kentucky to move ahead. At least Kentucky ranks first in something with this great group of dedicated newspaper folks from the smallest weeklies to the largest dailies.


Left to right Jay Nolan, President, Mountain Advocate, Barbourville; Jeff Jobe, President Elect, Jobe Publishing; Sharon Burton, Vice President, Adair County Community Voice; Regina Catlett, Treasurer, Sebree Banner/Sturgis News; Peter Baniak, Past President, Lexington Herald-Leader



District 1 – Barbara Atwill, The Current

District 2 – Josh Givens, Central City Leader News

District 3 – Regina Catlett, KPA Treasurer, Sebree Banner/Sturgis News

District 4 – Melissa Mudd, Butler County Banner

District 5 – Stevie Lowery, Lebanon Enterprise

District 6 – Jane Ashley Pace, Oldham Era/Henry County Local

District 7 – Jeff Moore, Carrollton News Democrat

District 8 – Dennis Brown, Lewis County Herald

District 9 – Cathie Shaffer, Greenup County Times-News

District 10 – Jessica Butler, Beattyville Enterprise/Booneville Sentinel

District 11 – Mark Hoskins, Manchester Enterprise

District 12 – Charlie VanLeuven, Casey County News

District 13 – Catherine Boone, Frankfort State Journal

District 14 – David Eldridge, Richmond Register

State At-Large – Steve Gaines, Bowling Green Daily News

State At-Large – Carrie Dillard, Paducah Sun

State At-Large – Ted Cox, Garrard Central Record

Audience Development Committee Chair – Richard Morgan, Lexington Herald-Leader

Digital Division Committee Chair – Peter Baniak, Lexington Herald-Leader

News Editorial Division Chair – John Nelson, Landmark Community Newspapers, Inc.

Advertising Division Chair – Heather McGinnis, Lexington Herald-Leader

Journalism Education Representative (2018-2019) – Chuck Clark, College Heights Herald, Western Kentucky University

Journalism Education Representative (2019-2020) – Michele Day, The Northerner, Northern Kentucky University

Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association Chair –¬†Michele Day, The Northerner, Northern Kentucky University


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *